Carrom - Winner

Home / News

Carrom - Winner

Bengal Club Sports Academy, Bengal Club, Shivaji Park, organized 4th Swami Vivekananda Memorial Prize Money Maharashtra State Ranking Carrom Tournament at Bengal Club & Maharashtra State Kabaddi association Hall, Veer Savarkar Marg, Dadar, Mumbai 400 028 from 23rd May 2015 to 26th May 2015


Mumbai, May 23:

The inauguration of this tournament took place at Bengal Club Hall, on 23rd May, 2015 at 9:00 am. The event was inaugurated by Chief Guest, Swami Sarvalokananda; Secretary, Ramakrishna Mission – Khar , Mr. Gautam Chatterjee; IAS, President Bengal Club in the august presence of Guest of Honor , Sri Dilip Vengsarkar, Former Captain of the Indian Cricket team .

In his address at the event Chief Guest, Swami Sarvalokananda said " Carrom which is a kind of board game helps in increase our logical thinking power and concentration without even we realizing it as we play it for leisure. It helps everyone to develop skills like visual perception, counting the numbers, coordination of eyes & hand and better concentration."

Mumbai, May 27:
Unseeded Sangeeta Chandorkar continued her giant killing spree to beat city mate Shilpa Palnitkar 15-25,25-10 and 25-4 and claim the women's singles crown in the 4th Swami Vivekananda Memorial State Ranking Carrom Tournament organized by the Bengal Club. The men's singles too was a hard fought affair in which Mumbai's Pankaj Pawar beat Yogesh Dhongade also of Mumbai 25-8,23-25 and 25-7. Yogesh fought hard in the second set only to fizzle out in the decider.Both the winners pocketed cash awards of Rs. 15,000.

In the semis of the men's section Pankaj won in straight sets at 25-13 and 25-20 against Sandeep Dive of Mumbai Suburbs.In comparison Yogesh had a tough time against Anil Mundhe of Pune.The former came back after conceding the first set to win 11-25,25-9 and 25-15. The women's semis were tame affairs. Sangeeta beat Mitali Pimpale (Thane) 25-5 and 25-5 while Shilpa after facing initial resistance from Maitreyi Gogate of Ratnagiri marched ahead at 25-22 and 25-2.

Smt. Kakoli Bose, Asst. Genral Sec.,Bengal Club was the chief guest for the prize distribution. Other dignitaries who graced the occasion were Mr. Prasoon Rakshit, Sports Secretary Bengal Club, Mr. Arun Kedar, Secretary of Maharashtra Carrom Association and Mr. Yatin Thakur, Secretary of Mumbai Carrom association